Mind & Motion

Dr. Milton Trager M.D.

Posted in My Practice by Meghan Pickrell on September 25, 2009

I Milton and Foot bknow that I haven’t been writing as regularly lately. I started classes in August. For those of you who don’t know I’m working on my masters in Kinesiology. I’m in the process of sorting out a possible thesis which is a good challenge. I also started my education toward becoming a Trager practitioner. Trager is wonderful type of manual bodywork designed to help people move with greater mobility and ease. Today I want to give you all a little about Trager.

“Dr. Milton Trager devoted his life to exploring the effects of gentle movement on the nervous system which he associated with the unconscious mind. His discovery was later called: The Trager Approach.”

“The mind is the whole thing. That is all that I am interested in. I am convinced that for every physical non-yielding condtion there is a psychic counterpart in the unconscious mind, corresponding exactly to the degree of the physical manifestation.” – Milton Trager M.D.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Carole Amend said, on September 25, 2009 at 1:06 pm

    Meghan,
    So glad you posted on this. You chose a wonderful quote os Milton’s.

    Blogging is great. It reminds me of life’s synchronicity. I clicked on the above “possibly related posts” and found a wonderful quote by Milton Erikson. M.D. ( a favorite of Jeff’s):

    “Life will bring you pain all by itself. Your responsibility is to create joy.”

    This, just as I am wrote an entry on my private blog about the curriculum for an AASI General Movement Practitioner (Trager is a requirement), and another on my PCDB blog on how Deane Juhan’s book, Job’s Body, really shaped my experience. That latter was in response to a post on the PCDB asking about what people thought about Anatomy Trains. Deane was my first Trager teacher, and I believe he heavily influenced Tom Myers.

    So, I guess it’s Trager day and I am filled with gratitude for Milton’s work!

    xo : ) Carole

  2. Judie Carroll said, on September 28, 2009 at 3:03 am

    I had a very positive session with Meghan using the Trager technique. It was amazing that it almost gave the feeling of the relaxation of a massage, but in a total different manner. I could feel the effect even 2 days post session and I slept well on both nights.


Leave a Reply

