Mind & Motion

Getting Out…

Posted in Inspiration by Meghan Pickrell on January 25, 2010

Over the holiday I had a chance to spend time with family in Nevada City, California. The town, which is quite small, is nestled along the Sierra Nevada foothills and was once a booming mining town in the 1800s. Most of the buildings, homes and retail shops have a Victorian feel and style. The town is surrounded by a mountainous terrain, luscious trees and a great feeling of nature.

While vacationing I was eager to explore the city and surrounding area. Having the opportunity to be in the fresh air, in a beautiful environment gives me perspective and the ability to reflect more easily. I took advantage of the beautiful environment by taking a run by myself. It’s quite remarkable to be alone in nature. It’s a very rare treat for us city dwellers.

I started my excursion by walking at a moderate pace, taking in the air and noticing how different it smells. It was cold outside and had been raining earlier in the day. My body was a little achey, resistant to the chill in the air. I proceeded to move along while admiring the  beautiful colors of the trees which were just starting to loose their leaves. I walked further out of town and noticed that I was alone, becoming more intimate with the earth and my own thoughts. My body began to warm itself and the energy propelled me forward. My muscles began to awaken. I was ready to begin my run.

You could call it a “work-out.” If the term “exercise” turns you off then redefine it. I am happy with the feeling of being warm inside when it’s cold outside and to be alone with my mind and body. Knowing this encourages me to take the first step. Taking a walk or run can help move the energy, give a change in perspective and allow for a different sensation. It could be called a moving meditation.

Know that you have access to this experience at any time. It’s right out your door. Share your experiences and let me know what pushes you to take the first step.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lorri Aucoin said, on January 25, 2010 at 3:00 am

    Wow, so descriptive I feel like I’m there “with you”, by myself, in the Great Outdoors…appreciating Nature, and what she brings to us. Great blog!

  2. Joan said, on January 25, 2010 at 3:36 am

    I felt that I was there with you. You have a gift of recreating the moment and the enviornment for those who are not fortunate enough to be there…Continued success and keep taking us along on the journey…and the adventure!

  3. the big guy said, on February 22, 2010 at 5:38 am

    babe i love you….sweet little recapitulation of your Nevada City run. Thanks for being patient with me while i am sick.


Leave a Reply

