Mind & Motion

Test Day

Posted in Fitness Tips, Health, Inspiration by Meghan Pickrell on October 10, 2010


So, as most of you know I’m working toward my Master’s in Kinesiology. This is a bit of a rigorous process – prerequisites, classes and of course RESEARCH. For my thesis I’m working with this device called the Vivometric LifeShirt which is basically a sci-fi vest, fitted with all kinds of sensors, wires and electrode hook-ups. The LifeShirt measures over 100 physiological features at any one moment. Everything is recorded onto a small chip (much like a memory card) which is then transferred to the computer where I can analyze the data. At this point I can observe all vital functions (such as heart rate) over a period of time.

I’ve decided to measure co-regulation with the LifeShirt. What I’m observing is any synchronization that may occur (physiologically) between me and a client during a typical pilates session. The questions I’m asking are: do heart rate increases or decreases coincide between individuals? or respiratory rate? or autonomic nervous system shifts? Basically, do I influence changes within the client? Or are changes purely as a result of the exercises… It will be interesting to find out what happens.

Part of my research entails a gamut of tests which measure my reaction to stress. While wearing the LifeShirt I recently went through psychological and physical testing. The video above is of me performing a “one repetition maximum” test while wearing the LifeShirt. My lab partners were testing the amount of weight I could press as a measure of strength. I only had to press out and extend my knees one time. But if performed correctly more weight was added. I think I pressed up to 275lbs? This was huge for me as you can see in the video. Enjoy watching me give it my all!

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. mom said, on October 11, 2010 at 12:37 am

    That is amazing!

  2. Carole Amend @PilatesbyAIM said, on October 26, 2010 at 1:44 am

    That was neat to watch! Thanks for posting it! And great to see your smile!


Leave a Reply

