Mind & Motion

The Secret to a Great Body.

Posted in Inspiration by Meghan Pickrell on November 3, 2010

I thought this girl looked pretty hot in her red swim suit

I was watching Oprah a few years ago (when I still had a television) and “an expert” dermatologist was sharing her secrets for staying youthful. Halfway through the segment she promised to tell the world about a secret, miracle, anti-aging cream just after the commercial break. The female audience (ages 35-65) waited in eager anticipation through all of the Tide commercials etc. to find out the answer to this elusive question. Sunscreen. Well, it ain’t surprising!

Clients ask me all of the time about my exercise routine. I’m assuming they want to make sure that I practice what I preach. I was dancer – not quite a professional dancer, but almost. My typical routine through high school and most of college was an average of 4 hours a day in the dance studio. I challenged my body quite a bit. I have the varicose veins to prove it. But all of that rigorous training gave me a love for movement and my body. I currently still take an occasional dance class, hike, practice yoga and move around on the pilates apparatus at least once a week. It keeps me feeling good.

So, here’s the secret people. Pay close attention and read this with care… Treat your body like an art project. Make it the most majestic art project ever. Show it care and consideration with nutrition, relaxation and exercise. Find an exercise program that you enjoy. Whether it be running, basketball, tennis, yoga, aerobics, dance or even pilates, attend to yourself physically. Be proud of your accomplishments! Stand tall and show off your talents to the world. The more you spend time in activities where you are engaged physically the more those feelings of pride and self-satisfaction will shine through. Make it the best art project ever! Yes, I know…. sunscreen. C’est la vie…

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tom Glover said, on November 4, 2010 at 11:02 pm

    Lovely…and very inspiring

    Love, Tom

  2. Dianne Barclay said, on November 5, 2010 at 3:26 pm

    Meghan,

    I always enjoy your posts and your wonderful positive attitude and this is no exception.

    Glad to see that you are doing well.

    Dianne


Leave a Reply

