Mind & Motion

Happy New Year!

Posted in Blog news by Meghan Pickrell on January 12, 2016

IMG_3825

IMG_3898

L1000080

IMG_3776

(Check out my girls above!!!)

Welcome back! I hope the holidays were spent with family, eating wonderful delicious food, laughing and enjoying life. As you are getting back to your schedule I encourage you to think on the new year. January is a time of reflection and reflection can help assist in making change. Implementing change takes practice. For daily changes, I’ve heard that if you can do something for three days it can start to become habitual. So, if you are adding a movement practice to your morning routine the fourth day might just get a bit easier. Check again in three weeks then in three months. Ritual is important for our body and mind.

I am also reflecting on 2015. For me it was a year to find balance with my time. I’m a new mom, wife, and business owner. Learning how to negotiate all of my roles is a juggling act; one I’m continually refining. I have so many interests and priorities. My life is full. I’m blessed and blessed to have all of you. Thank you for your continued dedication to the studio and your pilates practice. Without you, none of us would be here.

The studio also went through changes in 2015. Carole Amend, my mentor and the creator of the Bodies Mind Program of Study came and taught the beginning requirements for her program. These classes further deepened our movement awareness (we found our anchors!) and gave us a new framework to think about pilates on the mat. The two apprentices of the studio, Matt Rod and Chandler Suggs completed Pilates by AIM and all of the teacher training for the reformer. Look out for them in 2016 as they begin teaching classes. I’m thrilled with how far they have come.

I hope to continue our growth both professionally and as a business in 2016. Classes are going strong and hopefully we will be adding new class times this year as we did last year. I’m super pleased with our staff right now. I don’t know what I would do without these girls. We have a good team. I am also updating the website slightly to make it more user friendly. I’ve signed up for HealCode which embeds the scheduler right into my website. Soon everything will be done directly on my site. I’m planning on starting a “community class” soon which will be taught by Matt at a lower rate. Please look out for that.

You may have heard that we are increasing our prices effective February 2016. My rent has increased steadily and I haven’t increased rates since I opened in 2011. For members all charges after January will be at the new rate. The new rates are all on the website. Classes are only going up $2-$3 per class. I appreciate your cooperation and understanding in this matter.

Please don’t hesitate to contact me with any questions, concerns or ideas on how to improve the studio. I’m only one person and would love any and all support or feedback. I appreciate all of you so much. Thank you for making the studio a place of learning, community and friendship.

All the best,

Meghan

 

 

Leave a Reply

